The Wider Church

The Deanery and Diocese

The parish of Saint Wilfrid’s is part of the Church of England. It is within the Southwell and Nottingham Diocese and is part of the Gedling Deanery.

The Church of England has more than 12,000 parishes and an average attendance of more than 1 million people each week. Southwell and Nottingham diocese has 263 parishes and an average weekly attendance of more than 18,000 people.

Our Diocesan Bishop is the Rt Revd Paul Williams. He is assisted by a Suffragan bishop, the Rt Revd Tony Porter and two Archdeacons. The Venerable Sarah Clark is Archdeacon of Nottingham area and the Venerable David Picken is Archdeacon for Newark area.

The diocese is governed by the Bishop through Bishop’s Council and the Diocesan Synod.

The Deanery also has a Deanery Synod. Three members of St Wilfrid’s church and the clergy are members of the Deanery Synod. The Deanery Synod elects members to the Diocesan Synod.

Further information about the Diocese can be found at

Information about the Church of England can be found at


A cluster is an informal arrangement between neighbouring parishes to share some of the work, ministry and mission together in order to make best use of resources. Saint Wilfrid's is clustered with the parishes of Woodborough, Oxton, Epperstone, Gonalston, Burton Joyce, Lowdham and Lambley.

We join together on the 5th Sunday of the month for a joint service at 10.30am.  This year the services will be held in St Wilfrid's.

Christians Together in Calverton

St. Wilfrid’s enjoys a good relationship with the Baptist, Methodist and Roman Catholic churches and other Christians in the village. There is ministry and lay representation on a ‘Christians Together in Calverton’ group that organise regular joint events. These  include prayer times, community events, outreach and schools work and supporting charities such as Toilet Twinning and Christian Aid. The CTC choir puts on a summer and Christmas production every year.

Regular events:

9.00am Monday Prayer for Calverton in the Baptist church

Lent reflection and lunch from 12noon

4th March at the Methodist Church

11th March at St Anthony's

18th March at St Wilfrid's

25th March at the Baptist church

Palm Sunday prayer at 4pm in St Wilfrid's

Village Get Together open air service 17th May at 10am on the William Lee carpark


Worldwide charities we support

As a church community we support many charities throughout the year:


Toilet Twinning

Christian Aid

Children's Society

Arnold Foodbank

Royal British Legion


We also have specific times in our church year when we focus on our 3 main charities that we support through prayer and giving

The church in Burundi in the diocese of Mantana

The Bangalore Children's charity

Nottingham Framework